Divine inspiration

“Art is a collaboration between God and the artist, and the less the artist does the better.” Andre Gide

 

It occurred to me recently that throughout that process of creating and building that the people around me, the ones that I chose to share my work with, held me back. By ‘holding me back’ I don’t mean that they shoved words of discouragement down my throat. But, what they did do was plant seeds of suppression and doubt. They did this not to be ugly, of course, but to help.

Most of the help came from being told that I had, “Gone too far” or “That seems a bit extreme, don’t you think?” Now doubt is simply unavoidable, in my opinion. It is a natural part of being a human being. Especially when you are handing the world pieces of your soul, as artists do. But having your creativity suppressed in some way is a damn good way to kill your creativity. Art in any form needs freedom. It thrives on truth. To wrap an artist in a veil of oppression is to inadvertently suffocate the art.

We all know what it’s like when we get in our zones of creativity, don’t we? The almost euphoric possession, the numb feeling of blind movement, of not knowing where your inspiration comes from and to be honest, not really giving a damn. Because as Andre Gide points out, it is a divine experience. And the more you allow other people, especially those who don’t understand, to dictate how you express your divine connection, the more you are a part of the disconnection or block on your gifts.

I’m not saying to completely ignore someone’s opinion. It helps me to bounce ideas off of others and even if they don’t respond to my ideas it helps me by just saying them out loud. What I am saying is that if you know something has to exist, then ignore what everyone has to say and do it anyway. Their opinions be damned.

One thought on “Divine inspiration

  1. Reblogged this on candleowlknits and commented:
    Hello folks,
    I would like to share this post by Audrey Lexington about art.

    Some highlights that popped out at me:
    1. Art thrives on freedom and truth- the world is full of a lot of restraints and lies, for instance, the lie that “You can’t do it.” But the truth is you can. As I once heard someone say, “The only thing you have to do is do what you have to do.” If you want to be an artist, you can’t let yourself be held back. You have to find the truths that hide behind the lies in this world.

    About a year ago I took a philosophy class on aesthetics (the study of beauty) that completely changed what I wanted to do with my life. Or rather, what I wanted was always there in my mind, but taking this class convinced me that sadly wanting to be an artists while I did something else wasn’t going to cut it. I had to be an artist.

    So anyway, that’s what I thought when I read this. Cheers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

